A fresh start!

2 Oct

As most of you know, I LOVE to cook. I don’t always cook healthfully, but that’s what this blog is about, to help hold me accountable and offer my simple, fresh recipes. This is my second attempt to go primal/ paleo. Basically I want to cook and make delicious food with whole food only. My most important goal is to be healthy and raise happy, healthy children.

With all that said, my first recipe is one of our households favorite. Taco Salad.

a few tablespoons of olive oil

1 whole onion, any color, diced

1 of each- red, yellow, green bell peppers diced

1 can of diced tomatoes and chiles, any size or variety will do

4 cloves of garlic minced

1/2 cup of diced carrots

2 heads of romaine chopped

2 lbs of lean grass fed, hormone free ground beef

1/2 cup of beef stock

For the taco seasoning

I use my own blend of seasonings instead of the packets for 2 reasons. First off there are no preservatives or sugar added and secondly I can adjust heat, salt, smokiness, etc… This is the amount I use for a mild taste and the 2 lbs of beef.

1 T. chili powder

3 tsp paprika

2 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp garlic powder

2 tsp cumin

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp black pepper

1 pinch of cayenne pepper

Let’s get cooking!

On medium heat add a few tablespoons of olive oil. Add your garlic, onion, peppers, carrots. Saute on med-low heat until your onions are transparent. Add your can of diced tomatoes and heat through. If your pan is large enough you can add the meat right in, turn up to med-high heat and brown the meat. When the meat is mostly brown, add your 1/2 cup of beef stock. You could use water, chicken stock, or any kind of broth here as well. It’s really just to add flavor while your meat simmers. Simmer for about 15-20 minutes until most of the liquid has evaporated. At this point you’re pretty much finished. Add to a bed of romaine lettuce and garnish as you please. Sour cream and a touch of pepper jack cheese really hits the spot. I also added a sprinkle of chopped green onions to mine.

ImageImageEnjoy!

Let me know what you think. Don’t be afraid to play around with it and make it your own.

Much Love! Jessica

Leave a Reply

