Dinner Fail First

5 Oct

I lured a couple of friends over last night with the promise of pot roast and pie. I wanted to make something 1. that was delicious and company worthy and 2. primal or almost completely so. After a quick perusal of my pantry I decided on pot roast because basically the only thing I needed was the roast itself. I bought a 2lb brisket, seared and seasoned it salt and pepper, placed it in the crock pot. I poured a cup of red wine and a cup of beef stock in. I chopped 1 whole onion, 3 russet and 3 red potatoes, about 8 stalks of celery, 6 cloves of garlic, and a bag of baby carrots. I threw in a few seasonings basil, oregano, garlic and onion powders, a little more salt and pepper. I turned it on high and went to make my pie. Thinking in 3 to 4 hours I would have a delicious roast to enjoy with my friends. Well, that didn’t happen…. I’m not sure where I went wrong with this. After 3 hours the veggies were still hard and crunchy. At 4 hours the roast was so tough and dry like it had been overcooked. I’m so confused! I seriously have no idea what I did wrong or how to prevent it from happening again. On top of all that wonderfulness, I was extremely embarrassed to not have food to feed my guest. Primal FAIL.  They were good sports and we ordered pizza, drank our beer and wine and had a fantastic time.

Needless to say I feel bloated and disgusting today, not to mention ravenously hungry. Sometimes after eating whole food for a while, you forget how terrible “regular” food makes you feel.  If you haven’t ever tried it, I implore you to cut the crap and eat straight meat and veggies for a week or even just a few days. You will have more energy, be less hungry, and just over all FEEL BETTER. Notice after the week how you feel when you eat grains or processed food. The difference is extremely noticeable. Be well my friends, learn from your failures and mistakes.

Revised

I may have written my last blog a bit too soon. As I loathe wasting food and despise giving up I switched the crock pot on low and let the roast I paid 15 bucks for cook slowly all night and most of today. Success!!! Had it for dinner tonight and it was delicious! Tender, juicy, and falling apart, just like it should be! Lesson learned cooking gods!If you’re making a roast in a crock pot, make sure you have A LOT of time and leave it on for 8 to 10 hours.

One Response to “Dinner Fail First”

  1. David October 6, 2012 at 3:19 am #

    The pot roast was unbelievably great. You are awesome. Thank you dear for feeding me great tasting and healthy food.

Leave a Reply

