Red, white, and BACON (green beans)

16 Oct

I’ve been hip deep in laundry all day. I did have a nice lunch with a lovely lady, but besides that I’ve literally cleaned since I woke up today. Not much  to show for it, but I did stay busy! By the end of the evening, I was famished. When you’re eating paleo you can’t run up to a fast food joint and get a nice piece of primal meat, and let’s face it fast food salads suck! I didn’t have a lot of ingredient choices, hadn’t planned on anything, and needed something quick. The other night I made breakfast for dinner for some friends (yes!) and I bought an extra package of hormone, nitrate free bacon from the market. Honestly, my first thought was, I’m just going to cook up this half pound of bacon and go to town! Don’t judge me! Then my common sense took over and I decided to have a veggie with it. I keep these steam-able packs of broccoli, carrots, and peppers in my fridge at all times for an easy side dish. However when I reached in to grab it, I noticed a nice big bag of green beans calling my name. And let’s be honest, what goes better with green beans than bacon? Chop a little onion and some garlic and you have a well rounded primal meal in under half an hour. Here’s my ingredient list and step by step.

1 bag frozen green beans

1 red onion, chopped

3 cloves of garlic, minced and chopped

1 8oz hormone, nitrate free bacon (I use Applegate Farms)

Follow stove top cooking instructions for the green beans. Super easy, takes about 15 minutes, you just add  a cup of water, bring to a boil, turn to heat down to a low setting, cover and simmer for 10 minutes.
While your beans are cooking, fry up your bacon just until it’s soft. I’m not going to lie at this point I ate at least 3 pieces of the bacon, just to test it out mind you.

Set the bacon on a plate with paper towels or napkins to soak up the grease, or you could use coffee filters if you keep forgetting to buy paper towels like me. When it cools chop into bite size pieces.

Drain most of the grease out of your pan, keep a tablespoon or so to saute your onion and garlic in. Saute them on medium heat. When your onions are clear add your bacon back in and the green beans. Don’t bother draining the water from the green beans. I simmered everything together about 15 minutes to let all the flavors meld together.

DELICIOUS

I ate this for dinner, but you could absolutely make as a side dish for a larger dinner.

Updated the photo to a larger one by request and I also would like to mention that while you’re shopping for your hormone and nitrate free bacon, please make sure there is not sugar added to it. Almost all store brands have sugar listed as one of the first ingredients. I can promise you, you won’t be able to tell the difference. Bacon is always delicious, but much better for you when you buy the quality product without the nasty add ons.

Leave a Reply

